Harris OAH Distinguished Lecturer

Organization of American Historians (OAH) Distinguished Lecturer, 2019-2022 

Author of Sex Workers, Psychics, and Numbers Runners: Black Women in New York City’s Underground Economy (University of Illinois Press, 2016)

2017 Winner of Darlene Clark Hine Book Award, Organization of American Historians (OAH)

2017 Winner of Philip Taft Labor Prize, Labor and Working-Class History Association (LAWCHA) and Cornell University, ILR School



BLOOMINGTON, IN — The Organization of American Historians is expanding its Distinguished Lectureship Program with the appointment of 21 expert and engaging speakers on U. S. history. 

Many of the new lecturers are from the nation’s top universities and offer expertise on issues such as immigration, women’s rights, racism, human rights, and the histories of labor, medicine, slavery, religion, and technology. 

The 2019-2020 cohort of new lecturers, appointed by OAH President Joanne Meyerowitz, join nearly 600 other esteemed OAH Distinguished Lecturers. They can be scheduled to provide insights on important topics, headline historical commemorations and events, and bring context to some of today’s most perplexing issues. Donation of their speaker fees to the OAH by is an important part of the organization’s non-dues revenue stream.

“OAH’s Distinguished Lecturers provide a vital service to communities, libraries, museums, and universities by increasing public awareness and understanding of the importance of American history. This is especially valuable today as our nation faces unique challenges,” says Katherine M. Finley, the OAH’s executive director. “We congratulate these individuals on achieving this high honor and we thank them for their service to OAH.” 

New OAH Distinguished Lecturers, 2019-2020 – Brooke L. Blower  Boston University – Geraldo Cadava  Northwestern University – Julio Capó, Jr.  Florida International University – Veronica Castillo-Muñoz University of California, Santa Barbara – Kathleen Franz  Smithsonian Institution, National Museum of American History – Susan Goodier  SUNY Oneonta – Kimberly A. Hamlin  Miami University – LaShawn Harris  Michigan State University 

Cheryl Hicks  University of Delaware – Emily Suzanne  Johnson Ball State University – Robert Douglas Johnston University of Illinois at Chicago – Manu Karuka  Barnard College – Sarah Knott  Indiana University – Katherine M. Marino  UCLA – Elizabeth Stordeur Pryor Smith College – Bethel Saler   Harverford College – Naoko Shibusawa  Brown University – Gregory D. Smithers  Virginia Commonwealth University – Sarah B. Snyder  American University – David Vaught  Texas A&M University

For a complete list of participating speakers and topics and more information about the OAH Distinguished Lectureship Program, visit lectures.oah.org or call 812-855-7311 or e-mail lectures@oah.org