History Scholars

The History Scholars Program brings together the undergraduate majors in History who have the highest GPAs for the purpose of enriching their experience in the major. Our professors are eager to provide research opportunities to motivated students, and the department keen to foster relationships between the faculty, undergraduates and alumni of Michigan State who have gone on to successful careers.

The Scholars Program offers many opportunities for history majors, such as:

  • Active participation in department events, especially with visiting historians
  • Possibility of working as a paid research assistant with department faculty
  • For students writing theses, possibility of up to $1000 in research funding
  • Assistance in obtaining internships with alumni in law, business, or government
  • Admission into an advanced seminar in historical methods
  • Regular events, discussions, and other activities with the scholars and faculty

Entrance into the Scholars Program is by invitation. Please contact the History Scholars advisor, Professor Helen Zoe Veit, with questions.

  • The History Scholars for 2019-2020
  • Eric Baylis
  • Brett Binkowski
  • Bella Blanton
  • Erik Bubolz
  • Dane Clement
  • Willem Connor
  • Cameron Crawford
  • Sam Fethke
  • Wisdom Henry
  • Katelin Ivey
  • Halla Jones
  • Hanna Kliza
  • Rachel Lawrence
  • Sam Meade
  • Jakob Myers
  • Zack Myers
  • Nathan Niemann
  • Allie Pail
  • Evan Potyraj
  • Sabrina Ruff
  • Colin Syler
  • Abigale Trempe
  • Michael Vorwald
  • Lachlan Woods 


Anthony E. Woods, Sr. and his wife Mary Joan Woods are the late parents of MSU alumnus Anthony E. Woods, Jr. Tony, Sr. served in World War II. After the war, he married Mary Mary Joan, who as an English teacher with Tony at Mt. Clemens High School in Michigan. The couple later moved to Dearborn, where they both continued teaching. Anthony Woods, Jr. and Kay Samuelson Woods have established this scholarship in honor of Tony, Sr. and Mary Joan. The scholarship honors their legacy of teaching and philanthropy. It is the first established by a donor to support the History Scholars Program.

Recipients are usually selected during the Spring semester, with awards to be effective the following Fall semester. The award funds annually the research of a student in the History Scholars Program, or if determined by the department, a promising student majoring in History with a GPA of 3.5 or higher. The number of awards made in a given year and the amount of he awards will be based upon available funds for the year. Applications are reviewed and decisions made by the faculty head of the History Scholars Program, Department Undergraduate Director and Department Chair.