Department of History
Old Horticulture
506 E. Circle Dr
Room 256
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI 48824
Main: 517.355.7500
Fax: 517.353.5599
Email: history [at] msu [dot] edu
Hours: 8:00-5:00 M-F

News Archive

Follow Us!

buy aciphex online buy atenolol online buy clomid online buy prozac online buy valtrex online

Phi Alpha Theta History Honorary Society

Alpha Phi Chapter – Michigan State University We are a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. We seek to bring students, teachers and writers of history together for intellectual and social exchanges, which promote and assist historical research and publication by our members in a variety of ways. National Phi Alpha Theta Website Faculty Advisor: Jane K. Vieth President: Justin Benson Immediate Past President: Elisabeth Slocum

2009 ΑΦ Regional Conference March 28, 2009 Kellogg Center, Michigan State Unversity

Images of attendees at 2009 Phi Alpha Theta REgional Conference

Vietnam & Protest Session. left) Judge: Professor William Schoenl, Michigan State University (right) Chair: Ryan Etzkorn. Michigan State University

The Alpha Phi chapter of Phi Alpha Theta at Michigan State University was pleased to host the 2009 regional conference of the national history honorary for its members from Michigan and Wisconsin. It was held on March 28 at the Kellogg Center. In addition to students from MSU, students from Oakland University, Alma College and Western Michigan University also participated in the day long conference by presenting their papers. The topics ranged from the catholic reforms of Henry VIII, to American policy with Israel, to rock and roll as a reflection of teenage protest in the 1960s. Faculty members of MSU served as session judges and included Professors William Schoenl, Denise Demetrious, Emily Tabuteau, Edward Jocque, Michael Stamm and Matthew Pauly. Members of the Alpha Phi chapter chaired the sessions. They were Ryan Etzcorn, Jeffrey Richards, Sam Warren, Justin Benson and Elisabeth Slocum. Two students from MSU, Eric Baldwin and Aaron Myers were among those winning awards for outstanding papers.

The plenary speaker for the conference was Dr. Thomas Summerhill, the Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs and the Director for Integrative Studies in Social Science at Michigan State University. He spoke on The Historical Journey of Discovery: Learning, Researching, and Teaching History. His talk was well received by the audience.

At the luncheon, the chapter advisor, Professor Jane Vieth, introduced the newly elected members of the society and presented them with their certificates of membership. She also thanked Elisabeth Slocum, the chapter president and vice president Jeff Richards for their hard work in putting the conference together. Professor Vieth also announced the officers for next year. They are Justin Benson, the president elect and Ashley Conrad, the incoming vice president. Professor Vieth paid special tributes to Belinda Bombrisk and Rhonda Bucholtz for their assistance in organizing the conference as well. The chapter members thank all those who contributed to making the conference so successful.

Images of attendees at 2009 Phi Alpha Theta REgional Conference

U.S. Foreign Policy in the Mediterranean. (l to r) Judge: Professor Denise Demetriou Brendon Lee, Oakland University Matthew Murray, Michigan State University Chair: Jeffrey Richards, Michigan State University

2009 ΑΦ Chapter Induction Ceremony March 12, 2009

Statement to Initiates by the Chapter President Since you, as students of human thought and action, have expressed a desire to continue on the high paths of History, and since your predecessors have found you worthy to share such privileges, it is with pleasure that we initiate you into Alpha Phi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, a society dedicated to the service of History. New members: Eric Baldwin, Justin Benson, Ashley Conrad, Patrick Hoffman, Kacie Madden, Aaron Myers.

2009 Best Paper Award Winners. (Standing) Brendon Lee, Andrew Stonehouse, Eric Baldwin, Aaron Myers, Jessica Yetter, Jaclyn Freeman

Faculty and Inductees 2009 (Standing, l to r ) Kacie Madden, Prof. Jane Vieth, Prof. Edward Jocque, Prof. Emily Tabuteau, Justin Benson, Janine Yorimoto, Eric Baldwin. (Seated) Ashley Conrad, Aaron Myers, Beth Slocum and Patrick Hoffman